Contents lists available at ScienceDirect



Journal of Power Sources



journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/jpowsour

Foreword

The 9th **European SOFC Forum** was held from Tuesday, 29 June to Friday, 2 July, 2010 in the Kultur- und Kongresszentrum of Lucerne/Switzerland. This conference marked the significant contribution of Ulf Bossel, in initiating and driving the first nine European SOFC Forums, who was awarded the Gold **Schönbein** medal by his peers during the meeting. The Forum addressed scientific questions, technical problems, identified product ideas and market niches, and established links between research and industry. 400 participants from 35 countries of four continents attended presenting 120 oral and 120 poster presentations in the 9th European SOFC Forum. The technical program of the **9th EUROPEAN SOFC FORUM** was assembled by the Scientific Committee and comprised of papers covering the following topics:

- 1 Facts and Figures Reviews
- 2 Development Status
- 3 Innovative Designs and Applications
- 4 Fuels and Reforming
- 5 Material Processing and Microstructure
- 6 Modeling
- 7 Degradation and Integrity
- 8 Microscale SOFC
- 9 Anodes
- 10 Cathodes
- 11 Electrolytes
- 12 Interconnects
- 13 Stacks and Cell Sealing
- 14 Solid Oxide Electrolyzer Cells (SOEC)
- 15 Analysis and Methods
- 16 Metal Supported SOFC
- 17 Stack/System Related Topics

Authors of appropriate scientific and technical papers were then invited to submit manuscripts related to their presentation to the Journal of Power Sources to be considered for publication in this Special Issue.

Scientific Organizing Committee

Prof. John T.S. Irvine (Chairman), University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews/UK Prof. Nigel Brandon, Imperial College, London/UK Dr. Mark Cassidy, University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews/UK Dr. Paul Connor, University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews/UK Dr. Cristian Savaniu, University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews/UK Dr. Martin Smith, University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews/UK Scientific Advisory Committee Prof. John T.S. Irvine (Chairman), University of St. Andrews St. Andrews St. Andrews/UK

Prof. John T.S. Irvine (Chairman), University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews/UK Dr. Niels Christiansen, Topsøe Fuel Cell A/S, Lyngby/Denmark Prof. Paola Costamagna, Università di Genova, Genova/Italy Prof. Jorge R. Frade, University of Aveiro, Aveiro/Portugal Prof. John A. Kilner, Imperial College London, London/UK Dr. YngveLarring, SINTEF, Oslo/Norway Prof. MogensMogensen, Risoe Nat. Lab./DTU, Roskilde/Denmark Prof. JaninaMolenda, AGH U. of Science and Technology, Krakow/Poland Ing. Bert Rietveld, ECN, Petten/The Netherlands Dr. Rolf Rosenberg, VTT Technical Research Ctr. of Finland, Espoo/Finland

Dr. Robert Steinberger-Wilckens, ForschungszentrumJülich, Jülich/Germany Dr. Philippe Stevens, EDF R&D, MoretsurLoing/France Dr. Jan Van herle, EPFL, Lausanne/Switzerland

> John Irvine* University of St. Andrews, School of Chemistry, St. Andrews, Fife KY16 9ST, United Kingdom

*Tel.: +44 1334 463817; fax: +44 1334 463808. *E-mail address:* jtsi@st-andrews.ac.uk

Available online 5 April 2011